Do You Let People Use Your Netflix Login? Netflix is Monitoring You
In a recent interview with Chief Product Officer of Netflix, Greg Peters, it was revealed that Netflix is 'monitoring' accounts that share their login credentials with other people outside of their home network.
As of right now, the streaming giant has no immediate plans to intervene in the sharing of credentials, but indicated that they are working on measures to help more accurately determine who is logging in using someone else's information.
According to Netflix, some accounts can have up to 6 devices registered to stream the service on one account, but depending on the subscription level may only be able to actively stream on as few as two at a time.
According to the Daily Mail, 26% of millennials are estimated to be sharing their login credentials with other people outside of their household. This may not seem like much of a big deal, but this does technically go against the terms of service. There is currently software in the works to help identify and immediately flag accounts that artificial intelligence thinks is credential sharing.
The following is from the Netflix terms of service section 4.2,
4.2. The Netflix service and any content viewed through our service are for your personal and non-commercial use only and may not be shared with individuals beyond your household. During your Netflix membership, we grant you a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access the Netflix service and view Netflix content through the service. Except for the foregoing, no right, title or interest shall be transferred to you. You agree not to use the service for public performances.
All in all, if you share credentials, it looks like you're probably in the clear- at least in the short term. Though you, or whoever you share your login with, may want to consider getting an account.
We will keep this story updated.