New Driving Laws In Maine
Several new laws are now on the books that will effect drivers in Maine. One of the new laws that went into effect of Wednesday, will crack down on texting and driving.Maine drivers cited for texting while driving will now get a $250 minimum fine for their first violation and a $500 fine for second and subsequent violations within three years. Violators will now also have their licenses temporarily suspended.
Other new laws include extending the license suspension of operating under the influence offenders that have been cited three or more times within 10 years. The suspension would be extended from six years to eight years.
The minimum practice time for drivers under the age of 21 who applies for a learner's permit on or after October 9, 2013, has increased from 35 to 70 hours.
What is your opinion on these new driving laws in Maine?