The 4th of July is the day the thirteen colonies claimed their independence from England that is why it’s known as Independence Day. The conflict between the colonies and England was already a year old when they convened a Continental Congress in Philadelphia.

On July 1st, 1776, the Congress convened and adopted the Lee Resolution, and 12 of the 13 colonies voted for it. Thomas Jefferson had written the ‘Declaration of Independence’ but some minor changes where needed. The revisions continued through July 3rd and then on July 4th, 1776 nine of the colonies voted in favor, two, Pennsylvania and South Carolina voted no. Delaware was undecided and New York abstained.

The Declaration of Independence passed and July 4th has been designated as a national holiday.